Captains Walk

The Captains Walk in Cootamundra is a unique attraction featuring 42 bronze sculptures of Australian Test Cricket Captains, including Unaarrimim, the leading Aboriginal player in the first Australian cricket team to tour England in 1868. With strong connections to two Australian test cricket captains, Sir Donald Bradman and Bill Murdoch, both of whom have ties to Cootamundra, the town has a special affinity for the sport. This passion for cricket is evident in the town’s nine cricket ovals, including three turf wickets. Dr. Tom Dwyer Bass was commissioned to create 30 busts for the Captains Park in Jubilee Park, and the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council had the privilege of working with the Tom Bass Sculpture Studio School at Erskineville. Visit the Captains Walk at 157 Wallendoon St, Cootamundra, for a unique and fascinating glimpse into Australian cricket history.